

Adina Vălean Commissioner for Transport European Commission Rue de la Loi 200 1049 – Brussels, Belgium

Rail Forum Europe – Invitation to extend the Year of Rail to 2022

Brussels, 21 June 2021

Dear Commissioner,

As President and Members of the Managing Board of Rail Forum Europe – the European Parliament association dedicated to rail transport – and enthusiastic supporters of the 2021 European Year of Rail, we are witnessing with concern the difficulties in unleashing the full potential of activities to promote rail, due to current sanitary context.

When in the course of 2020 the EU decided to dedicate 2021 to celebrate railways, nobody could foresee that the pandemic would last this long, with the ongoing effects everybody can see today.

While the epidemiological situation continues to improve in many Member States and the roll out of vaccination campaigns in Europe is further accelerating, it is regrettably clear that during the past few months efforts to promote rail have been significantly affected by the pandemic.

The situation unfortunately will continue to prevent any possibility to organise in-person events and other public gatherings at least for the first half of this year.

The European Year of Rail is a unique opportunity to showcase rail and its key contribution to EU citizens and business, and to a smart, digital and sustainable mobility system that reconciles performance and reduction of CO2 emissions.

In order to make the most out of the unique opportunity and of the resources put in place by all the supporters of the Year of Rail, we invite you to consider the possibility of extending this outstanding initiative until December 2022 in order to make it an even greater success.

Best Regards,

Andrey Novakov MEP President

Anna Deparnay-Grunenberg MEP Vice-President

Cesar Luena MEP Board Member

Dominique Riquet MEP Board Member

Istvan Ujhelyi MEP Vice-President

a

Ismail Ertug MEP Member

Rail Forum Europe Full Members

Andrey Novakov (President), Anna Deparnay-Grunenberg (Vice-President), István Ujhelyi (Vice-President), Cesar Luena, Dominique Riquet, Karima Delli, Ismail Ertug, Isabel Garcia Munoz, Jens Gieseke, Brice Hortefeux, Ondrej Kovarik, Boguslaw Liberadzki, Alessandra Moretti, Jan-Christoph Oetjen, Tomasz Poreba, Massimiliano Salini

Rail Forum Europe Associate Members

ABB, ALLRAIL, AGIFI, Alstom, AZD Praha, Bombardier Transportation, CER, Deutsche Bahn, ECG, EPF, ERFA, ERTMS Users Group, Eurotunnel/Getlink, FIF, FSI, Hitachi Rail STS, NB-Rail, NS, ÖBB, Oltis Group, PKP, Rail Working Group, Siemens, SNCF, Thales, Transdev, UECC, UIC, UIP, UIRR, UNIFE, VDB Bahnindustrie, Voestalpine

> Rail Forum Europe AISBL Avenue des Arts 53, B-1000 Brussels info@rail-forum.eu