Board of Directors

The General Assembly elects the Board of Directors of UIRR every three years. UIRR’s presently sitting Board of Directors was elected in May 2018; consequently its mandate will expire in May 2021.

The members of the Board are:

  • Ralf-Charley SCHULTZE, Chairman
  • Thibault FRUITIER - Vice Chairman (Novatrans)
  • Ben BEIRNAERT (Combinant)
  • Marco GOSSO (Mercitalia Intermodal)
  • Rainer MERTEL (Kombiverkehr)
  • Christopher MÜLLER (Rail Cargo Operator)
  • Irmtraut TONNDORF (Hupac)


With the exception of the Chairman of the Board, who is required to be a recognised personality in the transport sector, all other members must come from member companies where they should at least serve as a managing director. Every member of the Board of Directors must be proposed to the Board of Directors by at least one UIRR member company.